About the Grant

$25,000 to support Digital Sanctuaries (MAP 2013)
$3,500 to general operating expenses for Susie Ibarra, Roberto Juan Rodriguez, Makoto Fujimura
$2,500 to general operating expenses for Fractured Atlas, Inc.

About the Project

Digital Sanctuaries is a digital sound walk featuring original music composed by Electric Kulintang (Susie Ibarra and Roberto Juan Rodriguez), which features musicians from around the world mixed to form a virtual pilgrimage. The sound walk will be available through a streaming website and mobile app, as the listener finds meditative spaces at twelve sites in Lower Manhattan, each with its own unique, ever-changing music. The inaugural installation will premiere at the River To River Festival in 2013 with a concert performance of Digital Sanctuaries by Ibarra and Rodriguez.

Related Websites

Fractured Atlas

Electric Kulintang

Digital Sanctuaries


Grantee Search

Pick any or all criteria.

Enter names, keywords or phrases, e.g. "2004" or "dance":