About the Grant

$18,000 to support Apheresis (MAP 2012), a new musical work by Hans Tammen.

About the Project

Apheresis is a large multi-movement piece by Hans Tammen for 15 laptop and electronics performers. The piece is inspired by Earle Brown's Available Forms, uses a score that is rearranged every time it’s performed, and fuses various contemporary electronic music styles and techniques.

The piece will combine contemporary electronic music practice such as circuit bending, no-input mixers, laptops, turntablism, analogue circuitry, network sniffers, live coding and soldering to produce sounds electronically. While these instruments have become a normal way of expression for the artistic community, larger ensembles are seldom built entirely from electronic musicians. The piece is written with specific performers in mind, and—given the immense variety of electronic sound production—any work for such an ensemble has to take into consideration the performer's unique instrument.

Related Websites


Grantee Search

Pick any or all criteria.

Enter names, keywords or phrases, e.g. "2004" or "dance":