About the Grant

$30,000 to support the Los Angeles Philharmonic in commissioning Illusion (MAP 2005) from composer Roger Reynolds.

About the Project

Commissioned by the Los Angeles Philharmonic, ILLUSION is a musical work for chamber orchestra by composer Roger Reynolds. The Los Angeles Philharmonic’s New Music Group, led by Music Director Esa-Pekka Salonen, will perform the work along with guest soloists. The world premiere of ILLUSION will be held at Walt Disney Concert Hall on May 9, 2006. ILLUSION is scored for soprano, baritone, two actors, three instrumental soloists (piccolo, clarinet, and cello), a chamber ensemble of 8 musicians (two horns, two trumpets, trombone, bass trombone, piano, and percussion), and multi-channel computer sound.

ILLUSION is an interpretation of Aeschylus’ Agamemnon—a story that explores the tension between tyranny and democracy—as seen from different characters’ points-of-view. A key idea in ILLUSION is this multiplicity of views. ILLUSION is designed to use the concert hall’s multi-channel capacities (which allow sound to be specifically directed to different areas) and intimate design to advance this idea. Instead of surrounding the audience with one omnipresent story, ILLUSION presents different voices in distinct locations in a continuing conversation between the human voices and the instruments.
Roger Reynolds
Roger Reynolds


Grantee Search

Pick any or all criteria.

Enter names, keywords or phrases, e.g. "2004" or "dance":